Book Review and Blog Tour: The Secret of Joy by Melissa Senate

Tuesday, November 17, 2009 Posted by Dina N


Book Description
In Melissa Senate’s sweet and sentimental eighth novel, twenty-eight year-old Rebecca Strand is about to lose her father and be left alone in the world without a family. But her father makes a confession on his deathbed - that he had a secret affair twenty-six years ago and Rebecca has a half sister named Joy that neither she nor anyone else has ever known about. Shocked by her father’s infidelity and secrecy, Rebecca is determined to find her sister and make up for Daniel Strand’s abandonment of his second daughter. She leaves New York City, her job, and her boyfriend behind and heads to Maine to track down the only family she has left. But when Joy doesn’t exactly welcome her with open arms, Rebecca must look within herself to discover the meaning of the word sister, and to figure out what she wants out of life and where her future lies.

My Review
The Secret of Joy is a moving, sad and funny, and true-to-life story, one of these rare books that I did not want to end. From the aptly chosen title to the likable characters and picturesque descriptions of beautiful Maine, this book charms its way into the reader's heart. The Secret of Joy made me reflect on the meaning of family, friendship, and love. It's about making the right choices, finding your own way and knowing where you belong. I recommend that you read this book, and then pass it along to your friends and family members.

Visit the other blog tour stops:
Books, Movies & Chinese Food: http://books-movies-chinesefood.blogspot.com/
Booking Mama: http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/
Frugal Plus: http://frugalplus.com/
All About {n}: http://www.bookwormygirl.blogspot.com/
Rundpinne: http://www.rundpinne.blogspot.com/
Brizmus Blogs Books: http://brizmusblogsbooks.blogspot.com
Psychotic State: http://www.psychoticstate.blogspot.com/
Books Reviews by Buuklvr81: http://www.buuklvr81.blogspot.com
Starting Fresh: http://startingfresh-gaby317.blogspot.com/
A Sea of Books: http://aseaofbooks.blogspot.com/
That’s A Novel Idea: http://thatsanovelidea.blogspot.com
Book Junkie: http://myfoolishwisdom.blogspot.com/
My Book Views: my-book-views.blogspot.com
Drey’s Library: http://dreyslibrary.blogspot.com/
Me, My Book & the Couch: http://memybookandthecouch.blogspot.com/
One Person’s Journey Through A World of Books: http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/
Booksie’s Blog: http://booksiesblog.blogspot.com
Book N Around: http://booknaround.blogspot.com
Keep on Booking: http://keeponbooking.blogspot.com
My Life In Not So Many Words: http://www.ziarias.blogspot.com/
Beth’s Book Review Blog: http://bethsbookreviewblog.blogspot.com/
Readaholic: http://bridget3420.blogspot.com/
My Reading Room: http://myreadingroom-crystal.blogspot.com
My Book Addiction and More: www.mybookaddictionandmore.wordpress.com
Crazy For Books: http://www.crazy-for-books.com
Bella’s Novella: http://www.bellasnovella.com/
Blog Business World: http://www.blogbusinessworld.blogspot.com
Reading at the Beach: http://ilratb.blogspot.com/
My Friend Amy: http://www.myfriendamysblog.com
Book Magic: http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/
The Life (and Lies) of an Inanimate Flying Object: http://haleymathiot.blogspot.com/
So Many Books, So Little Time: http://purplg8r-somanybooks.blogspot.com/
Jeanne's Ramblings: http://www.jeannesramblings.com
Red Headed Book Child: http://redheadedbookchild.blogspot.com
Reading with Tequila: http://readingwithtequila.blogspot.com
Books, Gardens, and Dogs: http://maryinhb.blogspot.com/
Jens Book Talk: http://jensbooktalk.blogspot.com/
My Own Little Corner of the World: http://molcotw.blogspot.com/
Lit and Life: http://litandlife.blogspot.com
Entertainment Realm: http://entertainmentrealm.com/

* Book description and cover art courtesy of the publisher. I received a complimentary copy of the book with no obligation of a positive review. No compensation - monetary or in kind - has been obtained or implied.

3 comments:

  1. Mary said...

    Thank you so much for posting the list! I just started following you!

  2. Sheila (Bookjourney) said...

    Great review! I really enjoyed this book too!

  3. Barb said...

    Great review. The book sounds like one that would be helpful for families needing to remember the importance of relationships.

    I would love to read it. Thanks for the list of the other tour sites.

    bstilwell12 at comcast dot net

Related Posts with Thumbnails