Book Blog Tour: The Art of Devotion by Samantha Bruce-Benjamin

Tuesday, June 08, 2010 Posted by Dina N

Book Description
THE ART OF DEVOTION by Samantha Bruce-Benjamin is a haunting debut novel in the tradition of Rebecca and Atonement. Filled with secrets, love, betrayal, obsession, and deceit, THE ART OF DEVOTION is a beautifully rendered window into one family’s dark and complex history. Told from the shifting points of view of four women, the story explores the psychological effects and emotional damage within a family led by a matriarch who was tragically widowed too soon; the fragile, almost inappropriately close relationship between her son and daughter; and the reckless deceit of an outsider. In a recent review, the Romantic Times called the writing “lyrical, reminscent of old gothic romances.”

My Review
This beautifully written book presents a surprising, darker look at love. The kind of love that may empower and exhilarate at first but also cause pain, suffering, and destruction. Love that is so powerful that it leaves death in its wake. The flip side of romance - lies, deceit, and betrayal. The resentment, the bitterness, the jealousy that we all hope will pass us by in life.

The story is revealed in bits and pieces, through the voices of four women - two mothers and two daughters. It's a puzzle that slowly comes to light, a kaleidoscope of images that shift and change. It reminded me of a Greek drama but set in the first half of the 20th century. These women are destined to love too much, and to find out that the enormity of their love is not enough to protect themselves or those they hold in their hearts. I would not attempt to recount the story because it should be read as it is written - a story of passion and devotion set against the beauty of an eternal ocean and an island paradise.

Disclosure / Disclaimer: No monetary compensation was provided for this post. I received a complimentary copy of the book. The opinions expressed in this review are my own and may differ from yours. Book information courtesy of Simon & Schuster. 

1 comments:

  1. Samantha said...

    Dear Dina, Thank you so much for reading my novel. It was so wonderful to read your review and to see that you had picked up on the mythological imagery - very few people have. I did very much conceive of this as a Greek tragedy and I am heartened that you discerned that. I cannot thank you enough for your kind words. I am so appreciative of your efforts to share my book with your followers! Very best wishes, Samantha

Related Posts with Thumbnails