Music Review: L-O-V-E by Issac Delgado

Monday, August 30, 2010 Posted by Dina N

I have to admit I had not heard about Cuban superstar Issac Delgado until Sony sent me his new CD for review. This album, aptly called L-O-V-E, includes 12 songs originally performed by Nat King Cole. Delgado's passionate interpretation of these familiar recordings never fails to lighten my mood. His voice is very expressive, and the musical performances are outstanding. The album includes a  special contribution by Nat King Cole’s brother, Freddy Cole. This is the first time that Freddy Cole has participated in a tribute album for his brother.

L-O-V-E is a collection of sultry Spanish songs that caused a good amount of dancing at my house. It's impossible to listen to it without smiling and tapping my feet to the infectious rhythm. Some songs are slow and melancholic, other more lively. I loved the background vocals and the piano accompaniment. The remarkably trumpet, sax and trombone create an atmosphere of buena vida, and a feeling of relaxation and joy.

Here is a complete list of the L-O-V-E tracks:
1.      Perfidia
2.      Quizás, quizás, quizás (Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps)
3.      Tiernamente (Tenderly)
4.      Ay Cosita Linda
5.      Suas Maos
6.      A Su Mirar Me Acostumbre (I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face)
7.      Piel Canela
8.      Aquellos Ojos Verdes (Green Eyes)
9.      L-O-V-E
10.    Yo Vendo Unos Ojos Negros
11.    Hojas Muertas (Les Feuille Mortes)
12.    No Tengo Lagrimas (Nao Tenho Lagrimas)

Issac Delgado will be on tour in September, and if you are lucky to live in one of these cities, consider going to hear him live. I am sure it'd be a worthwhile musical experience.
9/7        Triple Door                              Seattle / WA
9/8        Anthology                                 San Diego/CA
9/9        Conga Room                             LA / CA
9/10      Yoshi’s                                     Oakland / CA
9/11      Yoshi’s                                     Oakland / CA
9/12      Yoshi’s                                     Oakland / CA
9/13      Kuumbwa Jazz Center               Santa Cruz / CA
9/24      Concert Hall                             NY / NY

L-O-V-E by Issac Delgado will be released on August 31 by Sony Classical, and can be purchased on

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received a complimentary review copy of this CD courtesy of Sony Music. The opinions are my own. No monetary compensation was provided for this post.


  1. Pricilla said...

    Sounds like a great CD.

  2. fredamans said...

    I love Cuban music! Wish I could get musicians to send me demos to review, that'd be awesome!

Related Posts with Thumbnails