Music Review: Mi Alma Mexicana

Monday, September 13, 2010 Posted by Dina N

I have to admit I am not very familiar with Mexico's music, and I was very excited to receive a new CD from Sony Music that features some excellent examples.

Mi Alma Mexicana is the result of two years of extensive research by the dynamic 29-year-old Mexican conductor Alondra de la Parra who wanted to make an album that really represents Mexico’s music. The double CD features diverse styles and eras of Mexican music.

De la Parra is considered one of the most compelling conductors of her generation. Opera star Plácido Domingo called her  “an extraordinary conductor.”  Most recently, she was featured in Crain’s New York Business as one of their “40 under 40 New York’s Rising Stars,” and singled out in The Daily Beast as one of the “Young Rock stars of the Conducting World.”

The two CDs in Mi Alma Mexicana (My Mexican Soul) have an amazing selection of orchestral music that I enjoyed listening to. The album includes pieces that are passionate and energetic, and pieces that are gentle and melancholic. Whether you are already familiar with Mexican music, or are just learning about it, check out Mi Alma Mexicana. It would make a great gift for any music lover on your list.

Check out the complete track listing:
1          Huapango  (1941) | José Pablo Moncayo                                  
2          Melodía, Op. 1 (1890) | Gustavo E. Campa                  
3          Intermezzo de Atzimba (1900) | Ricardo Castro                        
4          Imagenes (1927) | Candelario Huizar                                                     
5-7      Concierto del Sur for Guitar and Orchestra (1941) | Manuel M. Ponce                         
[5]       I. Allegretto                                                                             
[6]       II. Andante                                                                              
[7]       III. Allegro moderato e festivo                                                  
8          Sobre las Olas (1884) | Juventino Rosas                                                           

1          Danzón No. 2 (1994) | Arturo Márquez                                                
2          Sensemaya (1938) | Silvestre Revueltas                                                 
3          Suite de Caballos del Vapor (1954) | Carlos Chavez                            
4          Sinfonía No. 2 (1993) | Federico Ibarra                                                
5          Concierto para Piano (2006) | Eugenio Toussaint                                 
6          Clepsydra (1990) | Mario Lavista                                                         
7          Ínguesu (2003) | Enrico Chapela  

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received a complimentary review copy of this CD courtesy of Sony Music. The opinions are my own. No monetary compensation was provided for this post.


  1. hendy said...

    Wow two years of research, I'm always open to new/good music so thanks for reviewing this.

  2. dor said...

    Wow. I am going to check this out. I really appreciate something when a lot of thought is put into it.
    Thanks for sharing.

    dorcontest at gmail dot com

Related Posts with Thumbnails